top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrystal Weldy-Ruiz

My Favorite Vegan Pancakes

Updated: Jul 4, 2021

Sunday’s, in most latin families, are reserved for gathering with family for a feast. We are no exception, we usually opt for large breakfasts with eggs, breakfast meat and pastries…donuts, pan dulce, bagel breakfast sandwiches, croissants, pancakes, or French toast. But, today is Wednesday and I woke up with a real hankering for some flapjacks.


The recipe I reference is originally from Tasty, but I have modified it to my liking and included a couple tips. These are vegan & amazing...especially slathered with your favorite plant-based buttery spread & agave, chocolatey spreads, OR, my personal favorite, vegan cream cheese and blackberry jam!

My Favorite Fluffy Vegan Pancakes: makes approx 6 pancakes


  • 1 cup non-dairy milk

  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

  • 1 cup flour

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons organic sugar

  • 1 tablespoon baking powder

  • ½ teaspoon salt

  • pinch of cinnamon (to your liking & optional)

  • pinch of nutmeg (to your liking & optional)

  • 1/2 cup Fruit or chocolate chips (optional)


Combine milk, vinegar, and vanilla. Give it a mix and set aside.

In a separate medium-size bowl, combine all dry ingredients.


Set griddle to medium heat.


Whisk milk mixture into the dry ingredients until we’ll combined. Taste the batter, if you’d like it to be sweeter, add 1/4 Tbsp of sugar until desired sweetness.

Let mixture stand for 5-10 minutes (This is the part that makes them fluffy!)

If you would like to add fruit chunks (blueberries, star berries, bananas, or even chocolate chips) I would do it just before pouring the batter onto the griddle.


Lightly oil pan. Scoop 1/4-1/3 cup of batter. Cook for 40-60 seconds. Flip and let cook for an additional 40 seconds (or until center springs back after slightly pressing on it)






Modifications and Tips:

1. The original recipe recommends any diary-free milk (as is also stated above). I usually use a sweetened milk so I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 Tbsp (as stated above).


2. I personally use almond milk but these are so much heartier & more filling if made with hemp milk.


3. I prefer to mix my dry ingredients in the vessel I’m going to use to pour my batter onto the griddle with (a quart-size measuring cup works well). It just makes for less dishes and easier cleanup.


4. I prefer vegan toppings for this recipe because if you use dairy or even add an egg to accompany your stack, it gives a weird dryness mouth-feel and tangy flavor.



I am not vegan, but often find myself choosing vegetarian/vegan options. For the longest time I (and sometimes still do) used the same ol’ homemade buttermilk pancake mix that made the fattest most delectable pancakes I’ve ever had . This recipe is the vegan version and has become my favorite because, in my opinion, it’s a healthier option without compromising flavor and texture.


Hope you all enjoy!


Buen Provecho 😋

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page