top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrystal Weldy-Ruiz

Savoir-Faire (săv′wär-fâr′)


A few weekends ago I hosted a tea party for the kids in my family. Let me tell you, kids deserve way more reverence than adults are accustomed to giving them. I thought it was going to be a total shit show; whining, complaining, arguing, fighting, screaming at one another. I was taken aback and astoundingly surprised at their behavior. These kids, which I have known their entire lives and can adamantly attest that they are the furthest from tame or in any way cultured, blew me away with their composure and sophistication. I know there has been a time in any parents' life that they thought their offspring are the spawn of Satan and will never actually apply the things we teach them to their lives. I am here to spill this tea...these chicklets KNOW! They proved to be proficient at every piece of refined comportment they have ever been taught! I'm saying napkins in laps, elbows off the table, even down to the boy letting all the girls go first and offering them a parting gift before taking anything for himself. I was left with my mouth agape and in complete awe of their civilities! Apparently, when you treat young humans like the people you hope they'll grow to be, they behave like the people you hope they'll grow to be! 🤯

This event was to gather the cousins while they were all together during a visit to my parents home in my hometown in San Diego over Spring Break*. Very well-to-do and as semi-formal as kinders can get. It was a grand affair; all were dressed in bright, spring attire donning broad-brimmed hats to shield the sun. A social gala surely not to be missed! *NOTE: my parents, siblings, and myself were all at some variation, but mostly fully, vaccinated at this point.



Catering to children is tough; consideration of food allergies, undeveloped palates, foods that kids don't like; cucumber sandwiches, for instance, a staple at every tea party, right? Not at this one, 3 out of 8 kids would have been the only ones to eat them. Anyhew, I had to create a menu suitable for all invitees. Also, I have to add, I knew some of these little sprouts weren't going to love everything I served them, so I made a deal that they had to at least TRY everything that was prepared. I love that they did!



We began with individual white cheddar cheese balls with pretzel skewers. A bit rich and smoky, but we threw a few more pretzels at them and they shoveled it right in! Great for a starter and nice to flush down with some refreshing, iced sweet tea. As I sat back watching these kids commiserate, I couldn't help but think how this smallest most innocent gesture of arranging a tea party could impactfully influence the course of their lives. I mean the possibilities are limitless! What if this little soiree of cousins turns out to be the one thing that directs my nephew into becoming a chef or a restauranteur? My kid, because we spend so much time in the kitchen, wants to be a cake taster when she grows up. That's awesome, because who else is going to taste cakes?! Create these experiences for them while they're young, it will better prepare them to acknowledge and assert their likes and dislikes...as witnessed, by myself, at this very function.



Next, they were served coconut and date crisps topped with strawberry cream cheese and fresh, sliced strawberries; these were a hit! Strawberries always seem to be a crowd-pleaser when it comes to kids...strawberry shortcake, strawberry ice cream, strawberries & cream, etc. I mean really, unless someone's allergic, don't trust anyone who doesn't eat strawberries. It was cheerfully heartwarming to watch and listen to these babes have a discussion about what they liked and didn't like about the food that was available to them this day. I wasn't expecting a full-on dissertation of how the subtle date essence and coconut crisp elevates the creamy texture of the cheese spread. But these littles actually had a dialogue about the flavors they enjoy and what they were able to taste, not knowing that the crackers they just ate had desiccated fruit in them.



Like I mentioned earlier finger sandwiches are the norm at tea parties, along with scones, tarts, and biscuits, but for these picky little twerps that just wouldn't fly. What do all kids love...why, PIZZA, of course! For this, I simulated a thin crust with a club cracker, a dollop of marinara sauce, a slice of provolone, and topped it with a round of pepperoni. One of the easier, cooler, and beloved items of the luncheon.



The food wasn't the only thing that coursed through the table. The first round of tea was customary to them, sweet tea poured over sparkling cubes of ice. Once that was polished-off, a round of mango, turmeric, green tea sweetened with monk fruit, which also went like water. They didn't know what was in it and they didn't care, they just loved it! I, the only one who genuinely cared, thought it paired well with the dessert nibblers. Also, it was too warm for hot tea and they wouldn’t have drank it anyways.


Tarts. Photo courtesy of my sister, Rita.

And finally, for dessert, lemon tarts; small amount was hollowed out from the center and filled with vanilla pudding, topped with either a blueberry or strawberry. Lemon and blueberry is a favorite flavor pairing of my youngest foodie, she’s six.


I also have to be completely honest, I, like many confused Americans, thought high tea was a dainty occasion held at midday. Very much not the case. The namesake of “tea times” refers to table height. Who knew? We’ll, I mean the British and Irish knew... but let me educate you a little. Afternoon or low tea is mid-afternoon and typically a ladies social. It is where the scone is exalted and tea is served on low tables. High tea is between 5pm & 7pm, served on high tables, and considered a working-class meal. https://www.thespruceeats.com/high-tea-vs-afternoon-tea-765832



For me, undertaking this task created a clearer understanding of just how much we all, no matter the age, want to be treated with respect, understood, and included. This was a great experience for our kids to really sit and get know one another, have discussions, and learn how to communicate with others. It was also an awakening for the adults that we should give our babies a little more credit when it comes to socialization and manners; despite the year-long stay at home and shelter in place circumstances that covid imposed on us. As their role models and guides, our reactions and the environment we present during these uncertain times will setup their outlook for the future. They will refer to these memories if/when they are ever placed in similar situations. Keeping things light and fun yet instilling trust, honesty and a bit of sophistication!


Hasta la próxima,

SALUD 🫖

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page